Archive for July 22nd, 2008

What do Clothes Weigh? The Truth is, not as much as you think!

Did you ever go to your doctor’s office and have to weigh yourself in the hallway?  Or even inside the room, but you still have your clothes on? And inside your head, you are thinking, “But what do my clothes weigh?  How accurate is this weight?  I’ll bet I can deduct a LOT for all these clothes!”  In fact, I have been asked about clothes weight by some of my weight loss clients.

I was curious, so I started weighing clothes to see if it really made a big difference.

My jeans weighed 1.3 pounds.  (I would have thought way more!)  My husband’s worn jeans weighed 2 pounds, newer, 2.5.

His dress shoes, casual shoes and cross trainers each weighed 2 pounds. A pair of my high-heeled shoes and sandals weighed .8 lbs. I did not bother weighing my running shoes because they are very light and I would probably never weigh myself with them on.  (Of course, don’t we all take  our shoes off to weigh in?)

Blue jean jackets in the house ranged from 2.5 pounds to 3.4.

Cotton shorts and tee shirt together, ranged from 1 to 4 pounds.

Underwear did not even show up—sorry, no deductions there!

Dress suits ranged from 2 to 4 pounds. Dresses .5-1 pound.

Dockers and other casual men’s pants .8 pounds.  My dress pants, .8 and .9 lbs.

Sweatshirts, sweaters, and other hoodies ranged from .6 pounds to 3.8

I would have assumed all of these items weighed more than they did.  Of course, fabric differences and sizes would make a difference.  You may want to check your own clothes if you are really curious.  Or you could just weigh yourself in the privacy of your home, and not pay attention to any other scales!


RSS FEED

Categories

Free Newsletter
For a list of of Diana's
25 Simple Tips for Reducing Stress
sign up for her
"Stress-Reducing Strategies"
FREE Monthly E-Zine!

Visit Diana's Site
to Sign Up

What I do

I am a Certified Life Coach, Author and Speaker and am an expert at helping people reduce stress. I work with individual clients and facilitate workshops and coaching for groups in my coaching practice. I am the author of three books and as a speaker, author, and coach, I offer easy-to-incorporate strategies to help people reduce stress. We cannot always change things around us, but we can change what's inside of us.

a

Pages

July 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031